Art of the Day – May 6th, 2014


Today’s art of the day is a photograph by Hirohsi Sugimoto – the master of the slow shutter speed. Known for expirmenting with time through his large format camera, Sugimoto is famous for taking photos with exposure times in excess of 4 hours. Here is a photograph from Sugimoto’s series “Theaters”, in which he captured numerous movie theaters, drive in theaters and other arenas and left the shutter open for the duration of the film. In doing this, Sugimoto was able to brighten up a dark room, and eliminate all people from the frame.

by Hiroshi Sugimoto

by Hiroshi Sugimoto

I love this photo because Sugimoto has perfected the form of photography that I am most intrigued by, and the form of photography that influenced me to become a photographer.

Not exactly a job in high demand, slow shutter photography is the most artistic form of photography in my mind and has few commercial purposes. By choosing to be a photographer known for this type of work, you must have a high amount of confidence in your ability, because it is unlikely that you will be called upon by companies to shoot ads, or by couples to shoot their weddings.

The future of the long exposure photographer depends on their ability to perfect a difficult craft and use it in ways that have never been done before so you can succeed as a fine artist without having to get a job on the side to pay the bills.

Sugimoto has been able to do that, but few other photographers are out there succeeding as an artist who “experiments with time” the way that Sugimoto does – almost no other photographer can be compared to him.

Currently, I do long exposure photography in my free time, and work as a commercial photographer for my job. I don’t know if a day will come where I am able to just focus on creating art that I love, but I am grateful that I am able to do what I love for a living.

I show my art occassionally, and I sell my photography online, but focus more on my full-time work, event photography and content writing. When I do show my art, I tend to show a variety of different approaches, because as far as fine art photography goes, I am still in the process of finding my own style per se.

Here are a few of my images:

This one is called “Blue Waves” and was an attempt at replicating the effect of Sugimoto’s Seascape series,

by Hiroshi Sugimoto

by Hiroshi Sugimoto

by Kathleen Odenthal

by Kathleen Odenthal

Here are some of my images that are not long exposure shots, but are also fine art shots that I took:

Abstract Realities photograph by Kathleen Odenthal

Abstract Realities photograph by Kathleen Odenthal

Faces in Outerspaces by Kathleen Odenthal

Faces in Outerspaces by Kathleen Odenthal

The Way He Sings by Kathleen Odenthal

The Way He Sings by Kathleen Odenthal

Who are your favorite photographers and what kind of photography do you like the most?

One thought on “Art of the Day – May 6th, 2014

Leave a Reply

