So Close, But No Cigar – Musician of the Day May 20th, 2014


I was broken hearted last week when America didn’t vote Alex Preston through on American Idol. This guy is the King Midas of music. Every song he touches simply turns to gold. He is everything music lacks, and everything it so desperately needs.

He is talented, he has skill, he has passion, he has humility, he has a desire to grow and he belongs in this industry. Here is Alex Preston performing Imagine Dragon’s “Pompeii”:

Here is Alex Preston performing “Yellow” by one of my personal favorite bands, Coldplay:

Here is Alex Preston performing “Say Something”

Alex said that he was not surprised when was eliminated as the second runner up on the 13th Season of American Idol. He even said he was surprised he made it as far as he did. “I want to keep writing with new artists. I want to record an album and go on tour. I want to do an organic kind of vibe, not too stripped-down but still kind of dirty. I don’t want it to be perfect. I want it to have imperfections. That’s what keeps it interesting.” – Alex Preston

I wasn’t surprised. An artist with that amount of talent deserves to be in the spotlight and I for one can’t wait to see Alex on tour. Tomorrow he will be playing during the live finale of American Idol with one of his own musical heroes, Jason Mraz, which I personally can’t wait to see.

http://www.kpmphotographyinc.com

photograph by Kathleen Odenthal

I think America really screwed up by sending him home, but I also don’t think that we have seen the end of Alex Preston. I find his style comparable to Phillip Philips, Dave Matthews, Jason Mraz and Bob Dylan. Preston was born to be a musical legend.

One way or another, he will wind up behind a microphone playing his guitar and tapping his feet to the beat.

Leave a Reply

